A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses Chaitra Navratri
Home city guide administration in jagatsinghpur

Administration in Jagatsinghpur

With noble intention of helping citizens of Jagatsinghpur in addressing pressing civic problems affecting their region, we’ve brought all the needed information about important local administrative bodies of Jagatsinghapur, Odisha. These administrative bodies have been entrusted with responsibility of providing efficient civic administration to citizens of Jagatsinghapur. Complete duties and responsibilities of these important civic institutions have mentioned below. But more importantly we’ve also provided contact information’s of some of the most important and influential administrators of the district.

Civil Administration in Jagatsinghpur

Administration in JagatsinghapurIndian law has entrusted on District Collector wide range of powers and authorities, making him or her the most powerful administrator in local administrative set up. Therefore it becomes very pertinent to shed some light on the role of District Collector of Jagatsinghpur. The District Collector of Jagatsinghpur is chief administrative and revenue officer of the entire district. Shedding more light on his primary duties and responsibilities, he is responsible for collection of commercial tax, supervision of civic administrative of the District including law and order and ensuring implementation of social welfare policies. Besides, he is also local in-charge of entire district as and when any kind of natural calamity and emergency strikes.

District Collector of Jagatsinghpur
Shri Satya Kumar Mallick
Phone - 06724-220379, fax - 06724-220299

Additional District Collector
Sri Saran Kumar Jena
Phone - 06724-220147

Additional District Magistrate, Paradeep
Dr. Rama Krushna Sahoo
Phone - 06724-220147

For more on administrative matters click here .

Jagatsinghpur Municipality

Jagatsinghpur District’s administrative division includes two municipalities or municipal councils. Besides Jagatsinghpur, Paradeep town is also administrated by municipality. However, Jagatsinghpur being district headquarter of the district, Jagatsinghapur Municipality obviously assumes more importance. Jagatsinghpur Municipalitys jurisdiction spans across 18.25 Sq K.M, which includes 20 revenue villages and 21 wards. It is its sole responsibility to look after civic amenities of these villages and wards. This primarily includes maintenance of road and street lights, maintenance of drainage system and collection of tax. Besides, it also issues Birth, Death and marriage certificates.The current Chairperson of Jagatsinghpur Municipality is Sri Biplab Choudhuri. The post of Chairman, however, is largely ceremonial. All the executive powers are vested in Executive Officer.

Chairperson - Jagatsinghpur Municipality
Sri Biplab Choudhuri: Phone no – 9439281444

Vice Chairperson - Jagatsinghpur Municipality
Smt.Puja Gantayat
Phone no – 9776274468

Executive Officer – Jagatsinghpur Municipality
Dr. Maheswar Das: Phone no – 9853440520

For more information on Jagatsinghpur Municipality click here .

Police in Jagatsinghpur

Law and order is undeniably one of the most important pillars of modern day civic administration. In fact if this pillar isn’t taken care of, then entire civic administration of any city will simply collapse in no time. To ensure that such precarious situation never arises, Odisha State Government has put in place wide network of police stations across Jagatsinghpur District. As of today there are 14 police stations across the district, including in Headquarter Jagatsinghpur city and Paradeep city, which are two most important cities of Jagatsinghpur District. Each police station has been laced with latest communication devices and sophisticated weapons to cope with any emergency problems, as and when they strike. As for record of law and order of Jagatsinghpur District is concerned, then barring few pity criminal cases the district has always been peaceful.

Superintendent of Police – Jagatsinghpur District
06724-220115 (O), 06724-220015 (R)

Jagatsinghpur Police Station
06724 220037/100

Paradeep Police Station
06722 222027

SDPO Jagatsinghpur city
06724 223293

Public Representatives from Jagatsinghpur

Jagatsinghapur has one Lok Sabha constituency and four Vidhan Sabha constituencies. MPs and MLAs are obviously elected from these constituencies after every 5 years, with the hope that they will work for betterment of civic amenities of their respective constituencies. And To help them in fulfilling this social obligation government even allots them huge amount of development fund. Last Lok Sabha elections and Vidhan Sabha elections were held in 2014. Below are names of Mps and Mlas elected from this election.

MLAs from Jagatsinghpur
Shri Chiranjib Biswal – Jagatsinghpur Constituency
Dr. Damodara Rout – Paradeep Constituency
Dr.Rajashree Mallick – Tirtol Constituency
Shri Prasanta Kumar Muduli - Balikuda-Erasama Constituency

MP from Jagatsinghpur
Dr.Kulamani Samal - Loksabha Jagatsinghpur

Other Important Functionaries in Jagatsinghpur

With noble intention of encouraging civic consciousness amongst general citizens, we bring to you names and contact information’s of some additional and important local administrators of Jagatsinghpur District. We do hope that our noble purpose of comprehensive compiling this list is indeed served and fulfilled.

Sub Collector
Shri Narahari Seth
Phone no: 06724-220403

President – Jagatsinghpur Zilla Parsihad
Sri Debidutta Mohanty
Phone no - 06724-231093

Block Development Officer (B.D.O)
Phone no: 06724 220085

Government Homoeopathic Medical Officer
Dr. Saroj Kumar Sarangi: Phone no - 9437128504

Municipal Enginner( Part time)
Er. Bikram Keshari Mishra: Phone no - 9437268299

Chief Judicial Magistrate (CJM) – Jagatsinghpur
Phone no: 06724 220138, 220347

Sub-Judge - Jagatsinghpur
Phone no: 06724 220093

Tahasildar, Jagatsinghpur
Phone no: 06724 220364, 222791

District Panchayat Officer
Phone no: 06724 220034

Associate District Judge (ADJ)
Phone no: 06724 220149

All the above mentioned civic bodies and administrators are constitutionally bounded to fulfill their responsibilities and functions earnestly. Their sole objective being alleviating quality of life of people of Jagatsinghapur and thereby propelling the district towards economic development. To sum it up, their efficiency and diligence is key for raising the bar and quality of life in the district.

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries